Lynx

Lynx

This is a Lynx I did a few months ago. This is a great lesson on not drawing in low light…I THOUGHT I had a brown pastel, but it turned out to be dark red! Yep, I had a red lynx….and wasn’t going to redo the fur. Also, this was one of the first times I tried pastels, got the technique completely wrong. I drew in great detail with a pencil first, then started drawing the same way with the pastels. But pastels are meant for blending and then I realized that I put in so much detail…I couldn’t blend the colours.
Lesson learned…oh well. I liked how the eyes turned out on this though, but clearly I ran out of room for the very important tufts at the top of the ears. Next time I will pick better colours and use proper lighting!
I was too cheap to spring for expensive pastels, so used Mungyo soft and semi-soft pastels for this. These are fine for beginners, but once you move up to more expensive brands, you will see the difference. I really love pastels, they aren’t those chalky things we had as kids, they are beautiful pigments and wonderful for details.
I think I also used some Conté pencils for this, which have a special scratchy feel. But beware…they are almost impossible to erase if you mess up! I used Pitt Pastel Pencils for the eye colour, love these pencils for fine details.

