Bad week

Bad week

I began my meds for ptsd symptoms this week, and besides the nausea and headaches, I received constant contact from work. It got to me and I crashed THursday, had a long walk and talk with myself and decided to cut myself off from work and concentrate only on getting better. I cannot deal with people in a panic state. Some things I do to calm down immediately are to play anagram-type games on a smart phone, or grab a pencil and start drawing. I also use pastels a lot, because they don’t require setting up or prep work like traditional painting…it’s instant art therapy!

That evening I managed to sit long enough to complete this deer. A friend of mine noted that she could almost reach out and touch the softness…I took that as a real compliment. It was a nice practice and I would like to try it again and improve on it.
The best part I liked about oil painting was the blending, and pastels seems to do this wonderfully. I could literally blend for hours and forget everything.

I did this with a mix of Pitt and Derwent pastels and Rembrandt and Mungyo pastels. I know Mungyo are cheaper and not so blendable as the Rembrandts, but they are affordable and the more layers you use, they actually come out pretty good. Gotta love that.
Let’s hope the side effects will lessen soon and I can start to feel better and more in control. DETERMINED to get better, not bitter!

