Sad Stinky

20140115-111150.jpg

Sad Stinky, Rembrandt pastels on Canson Mi-tients paper

This is for the children’s book I am illustrating with my university friend Norma. She is writing, I am illustrating. It started out as just a fun, collaborative project for us, but now it’s more personal and we are committed to it. Norma finished the story the other day and I have read it 3x and cried every time. Not because it’s sad, because it captures exactly the Spirit of Stinky and what he stood for. Very uplifting and hopeful and anyone can relate to it. Better than I hoped.
Every time it start to draw Stinky it looks so awful to me, then I work away at it and somehow it comes round and actually works out. This one is not quite finished, needs some detailing, but you get the idea. He has been abandoned at the Rottie Rescue and a bit sad, but hopeful.
I am busy writing my resume and will start applying for jobs this week. I am going to load examples of print graphics I have done on this blog in a separate section. I’m proud of the work I did in the Canadian Armed Forces and hope it inspired the ill and injured and their families to get the help they deserve. Now it’s time for me to stand up and take credit for what I’ve done instead of letting others take credit for work they did not do.

