Diesel #3

IMG_3094

Diesel and his Veteran, Rembrandt pastels on MT Touch

I woke up one morning and just knew I had to paint this one. I am very happy with the results, mainly the dog. I am not good at doing humans, but I think the main focus should be the alert dog and I think it comes across. The background was just me trying different effects and finally settling on the one here.

I know that for the rest of my life I will support Veteran’s programs and the good people who run these non profit organizations that are life saving and so important to Canadian Veterans. No one understands Veterans like our fellow Vets and the hell we go through if that includes PTSD. I think these organizations succeed because the Veterans who work there are carrying on the camaraderie and brother and sisterhood that we are all trained to develop. This somehow gets lost in the Department of National Defence and Veterans Affairs, mainly because they are staffed by people who often mean well, but can’t really understand us. I feel privileged to be counted among the Veterans of this country and I stay in close contact with buddies and those in need of my listening ear.

