Kylie

20140425-123145.jpg

Kylie, Rembrandt pastels on Strathmore treated 400 series mixed media paper

My cousins dog died recently and I painted this character for her as a comfort. It’s from a picture, but I would like to paint aore lively picture later on, did the sketches of it while waiting on a med appt.

Feeling a bit lost, half in half out of the military but that’s life. I wish it could have ended better and kinder but I suppose I’m no different than thousands of other soldiers who are tossed out without a care. I am making a list of all the good things about being in the military and one is , of course, is that now I am a privileged member of a unique organization. I understand Veterans and am comfortable around them. But for now, my battles are over for a whole. Sadly, the people who have bullied me and treated me so uncaringly are the same ones who decide whether or not I receive compensation for my injuries. I am not hopeful that they will decide in my favour, but thankfully, they are not the highest law in the land, though I believe they arrogantly think so. Why do people get their ego and character from pushing others around. These same people would walk around bragging how they thwarted this guy from a harassment charge, or making fun of how someone worded their experience when seeking compensation. These people are nothing more than goons, and it is encouraged by the chain of command at that unit. They make me ashamed to call them members of the Canadian Armed Forces. They wouldn’t lift a finger to save anyone but themselves.

Now it’s my job to look outward and upward and change my life for the better. One is to not look back, but gather all the good stuff I have gained and put them into a suitcase and get moving. These things are worth keeping: resilience, work ethic, good buddies, good times, great training, and knowledge . And above all, caring about your buddy and never leaving them behind.

