Sadie

20140622-181426-65666343.jpg

Sadie, the filly, Rembrandts & charcoal on prepared watercolour background.

One day I realized that I wanted to do a large painting but I didn’t have any paper left and no money to buy more. But I remembered a friend of mine had given me these really large pieces of Canson watercolor paper.

I found them and because it was a nice day took them outside and stared at them for a while. It’s been a long time since I did watercolors I just wasn’t happy with that medium. But I put the paper on the ground, poured water on it and then just took out my Winsor Newton colours and took a brush and started adding colour. The more I added color the more I thought what the heck I’m going to add as many colors as I want and any way I want.

The more colors I added the angrier I got at the army. I took the brush and just pelted the paper, so much that I remove some of it and then I ended up with two canvases like this. I use them as backgrounds and left them to dry.

I went riding yesterday and I didn’t really feel like it but I force myself to do it because I was feeling pretty down. I rode this fillies mother her name is Kitty. When I came home I was supposed to be working on a different painting but looked at this background and thought I’m going to stick a horse on this.

I had my other painting on my art table and I didn’t want to remove it so I just stuck this paper on the floor and just sat there on the floor and did this horse. This one didn’t start out too good but towards the end I started to like it. And it looks just like her.

