My nephew Jayden

20140730-081555-29755932.jpg

Schminke pastels on Stonehenge paper

I thought I would try the Stonehenge paper because it was recommended by many people online. It was awful! Maybe because I use the rough for side of it but it was a fight to make it blend these beautiful pastels.

I’m not happy with the results of this, in fact I wanted to give up portraits. It really doesn’t look that bad from a distance but I don’t like how it isn’t translucent like the Canson papers.

The Canson Mi-tients paper is far superior to the Stonehenge for pastels. The Stonehenge might be better for colored pencils and I’d like to give that a try.

So it’s back to the Canson papers for portraits from now on. I also bought a plastic tube from the dollar store for $3 to put the portraits in so I can ship them back home so I can give these portraits away.

I’m still two years in to my self-imposed five year training., So there’s no pressure to produce really perfect results! It’s just practice, I tell myself!

